Versión para imprimir


The Baccalaureate is secondary education generally undertaken by students between theages of 16 and 18, however it is open to people of all ages, at a school or by distance learning. The baccalaureate is undertaken over a period of two years.

List of schools offering the baccalaureate

The baccalaureate is non-compulsory education that prepares students for further study, both vocational and university education, and for the workplace.

Students can decide to follow any one of the three different paths of study:

  • Arts
    • Visual Arts
    • Performing Arts
    • Science and Technology
    • Humanities and Social Sciences


Students who meet any of the following requirements may enrol in the baccalaureate:

  • Have completed compulsory higher education.
    (Direct access to all paths)
  • Hold a vocational training certificate.
    (Direct access to all paths)
  • Hold a sports technician certificate. (Direct access to all paths)
  • Hold a visual arts and design certificate. (Direct access to all branches in the arts pathway)


Admission to public and government-funded private schools is regulated in such a way that all persons are guaranteed the right to education on equal terms and parents and guardians are free to select the school of their choice.

When there are not sufficient places in publicly-funded schools, students will be granted admission based on the following priority criteria without any being exclusive:

  • The student has siblings enrolled in the school or parents or legal guardians working at the school.
  • The student's home or the place of work of the parents or legal guardians is in close proximity to the school.
  • Annual family income, taking into account calculations for large families.
  • The student or one of the parents or siblings has a disability.

For further information

Print |