Cabildo de Tenerife


Natura 2000 Network

Natura 2000 is the European ecological network for the conservation of natural habitats and wild fauna and flora. The aim of the network is to assure the long-term survival of Europe's most valuable and threatened species and habitats. It is the Europeans Union’s main instrument for the conservation of nature. Amongst other aims, the network strives to increase social awareness and propose behavioural changes, given the importance that the conservation of biodiversity and habitats represents in terms of our own survival.

The network comprises protected areas that contain habitats (more than 250 types) and species that are of importance to the European Community, as a result of their rarity, unique status or due to their representative character in terms of the six biogeographical European regions.

It also defines areas where we find threatened bird species, in order to ensure their conservation, advocating the view that the most efficient manner of protection involves the conservation of the areas that they inhabit, to which they migrate and where they reproduce.

The areas that form a part of Natura 2000 are classified into two types:

  • Special Areas of Conservation (SAC)
    • These are areas of enormous environmental interest in terms of the conservation of diversity and are designated by the Member States of the European Union for incorporation into the Natura 2000 Network, in accordance with directive 92/34/EEC relating to the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora. The SAC’s must have previously been registered as Sites of Community Importance
      • Franja marina Teno – Rasca
      • Parque Nacional del Teide
      • Ijuana
      • El Pijaral
      • Los Roques de Anaga
      • Pinoleris
      • Malpaís de Güímar
      • Montaña Roja
      • Malpaís de la Rasca
      • Barranco del Infierno
      • Chinyero
      • Las Palomas
      • Corona Forestal
      • Barranco de Fasnia y Güímar
      • Montaña Centinela
      • Montañas Ifara y los Riscos
      • Roque de Jama
      • Montaña de Tejina
      • Roque de Garachico
      • Rambla de Castro
      • Las Lagunetas
      • Barranco de Erques
      • Acantilados de la Culata
      • Los Campeches, Tigaiga y Ruiz
      • La Resbala
      • Acantilado de la Hondura
      • Tabaibal del Porís
      • Interián
      • Barranco de Ruíz
      • Anaga
      • Teno
      • Cueva del Viento
      • Barranco de Niágara
      • Barranco de Orchilla
      • Barranco de las Hiedras - El Cedro
      • Acantilado costero de Los Perros
      • Riscos de Lara
      • Laderas de Chío
      • Sebadales del Sur de Tenerife
      • Cueva marina de San Juan
      • Barranco de Icor
      • Lomo de Las Eras
      • Sebadal de San Andrés
      • Barranco Madre del Agua
      • Costa de San Juan de la Rambla
      • Sebadales de Antequera
      • Piña de Mar de Granadilla
    • Special Protection Areas for Birds (SPA’s)
    • A category of protected area that is identified by the Member States of the European Union, representing natural areas of singular importance for the conservation of birds under the threat of extinction, in accordance with the stipulations of Community Directive 79/409/EEC and subsequent modifications (EU Birds Directive).
      • Acantilados de Santo Domingo
      • Anaga
      • Montaña Roja
      • Montes y cumbre de Tenerife
      • Rasca y Guaza
      • Roque de Garachico
      • Roque de la Playa
      • Teno

Print this pagePrint